Your first computer (1 Viewer)

Your first computer?

  • 8086

  • 286

  • 386

  • 486

  • Pentium

  • Pentium Pro

  • Pentium II

  • Pentium 3

  • Pentium 4

  • Celeron

  • AMD K6/K7

  • AMD Duron

  • AMD Athlon

  • AMD Athlon XP

  • some sorta mac :doh:


Results are only viewable after voting.

Martin

Senior Member
Dec 31, 2000
56,857
#1
So then.. what was your first computer? :)

Since I don't know anything about maccies, I just included one option for it. If you want more alternatives, tell me what they are. ;)
 
OP
OP
Martin

Martin

Senior Member
Dec 31, 2000
56,857
#3
I started out in 1993 with a 486DX w/ 4mb RAM. I still have it, but it's not being used for anything anymore. A couple of years ago it was a linux server, but a pretty lame one at 16 bogomips :D
 

Dragon

Senior Member
Apr 24, 2003
27,407
#4
Some Mac, but then we got a Pentium. It was so cool back then.

My school had those really slow IBMs, I loved to play with them!!
 

Hydde

Duke NUKEM
Mar 6, 2003
36,667
#5
Ah ok.. my first pc was in the school.......... :p


in the "mecanografía " class-...... we used "Word Perfect" in that time...

yeah the one with the blue screen :D


I always remember how fascinated i was with the paintbrush :D... loved to do crazy things while in class.
 

Trezeguet_FC

Senior Member
Mar 26, 2003
1,888
#6
386 is all i know. I was too young to know about the specs of the hdd and ram. But i know it came with some Visual Basic blue intro screen (it only had DOS) and the menu screen gave me the option to play a coupel of games. It had some other stuff, but they didnt concern me. FInally, my dad got win 3.1 and that was when i started to actually use the computer, and that was the beggining of my game pirating career ;)

ah you gotta love thos 5 1/2 inch floppies.
 

Ali

Conditioned
Contributor
Jul 15, 2002
15,580
#7
The first computer I used was a 286 at work as a data entrant. My first personal PC though was a Pentium II, 450Mhz, 64MB RAM, 4.3GB Harddisk & a 17" Monitor. In 1999 that was hot! I still use upto today although am thinking of switching it to become my Linux test bed soon.
 

gray

Senior Member
Moderator
Apr 22, 2003
30,091
#8
'Twas a day like any other. I had returned from school and was lazing about with nothing to do. Then my dad walked in, carrying a fairly large box under his arm. Upon asking what it was, I was told that it was a computer. State of that art it was, a lightning-fast 10 MHz processor, 4 MB RAM, a massive 20MB HDD, and the awesome 5 1/4" floppy disk drive

:touched:
 

Ali

Conditioned
Contributor
Jul 15, 2002
15,580
#10
++ [ originally posted by Hydde ] ++
we used "Word Perfect" in that time...
I used WordPerfect with it's 1 million shortcuts :eek:

I always remember how fascinated i was with the paintbrush :D... loved to do crazy things while in class.
I hated paintbrush with a passion ..... still do :)
 

Elnur_E65

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2004
10,848
#11
I have already forgotten about my first computer... back in 1993 it was a top of the line Toshiba 486 with Windows operating system. I don't even remember its specs.

Still should be somewhere in the closet. I'm gonna try to find it.
 

Slagathor

Bedpan racing champion
Jul 25, 2001
22,708
#13
We had a 386 but I was 10 years old or something IIRC and didn't care about computers AT ALL (admittedly, I still don't but being at uni and all you kind of have to use them, you know). I spent my times playing football out on the streets in between shattered houses. Good times :touched:
 

Elnur_E65

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2004
10,848
#14
++ [ originally posted by Erik ] ++
We had a 386 but I was 10 years old or something IIRC and didn't care about computers AT ALL (admittedly, I still don't but being at uni and all you kind of have to use them, you know). I spent my times playing football out on the streets in between shattered houses. Good times :touched:
Same here... I was 15 back in 1993 and could care less. I played some DOS based computer games though... not anymore. The only game I played since was "snake" on my nokia phone.
 

gray

Senior Member
Moderator
Apr 22, 2003
30,091
#16
++ [ originally posted by Ali ] ++
Gray you sure that was not a calculator? :D
Essentially, it was about as powerful as a standard calculator, the only difference being that it plugged into the mains and consumed a lot more power :stress::D

I remember how disappointed I was when I brought home Doom, and couldn't play it because I needed 6MB RAM :down:
 

Ali

Conditioned
Contributor
Jul 15, 2002
15,580
#18
++ [ originally posted by Graham ] ++
Essentially, it was about as powerful as a standard calculator, the only difference being that it plugged into the mains and consumed a lot more power :stress::D

I remember how disappointed I was when I brought home Doom, and couldn't play it because I needed 6MB RAM :down:
Doom broke many hearts & is responsible for a whole load of upgrades. Funny how the scenario has changed and the graphic cards are so advanced waiting for the game programmers to catch up :eek:
 

gray

Senior Member
Moderator
Apr 22, 2003
30,091
#20
++ [ originally posted by Ali ] ++
Doom broke many hearts & is responsible for a whole load of upgrades. Funny how the scenario has changed and the graphic cards are so advanced waiting for the game programmers to catch up :eek:
Yeah funny that, I didn't think of it that way

Then again, Doom 3 will probably cause a lot of upgrades too :)
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)