Problem with pop up (1 Viewer)

Evelyn8

Senior Member
Jul 23, 2002
584
#1
This isn't really related to the forum but I was hoping you could help me anyway

I was trying to d-load some software

in Kazaa

and I got this problem one of the files I d-loaded
was a link to a homepage file

It started this outdated russian page which was already closed down........

So I didn't think much of it closed the IE window
and deleted the file.....

But now it has been placed somewhere in my memory
and it opens up this window every 30min

Which is very annoying
esp
if I am watching a movie
or even worse playing CM then it messes up my save
:frown: :(

SO I was wondering if anyone of yall knew a where to close this window
so this process will stop reappearing....;.

be grateful for your help
E
 

Martin

Senior Member
Dec 31, 2000
56,814
#2
From my experience Kazaa will launch windows on its own, and it's enough for me to just close them whenever they come. However there is no way to disable Kazaa from opening them (close the program), there's a browser embeded in the software.
 

Majed

Senior Member
Jul 17, 2002
9,630
#3
well..
All i can suggest is emptying your temporary internet file and History.

if it opens every 30 minutes, it must be a program that you DLed from KaZaA. (.exe)
you might want to search on your computer for all .exe files that have been modfified in the past day or so... (arrange by date when u sort the *.exe search result) then if u see any suspisious file, find out what its for, if its not a windows file or a nesessary file, then Delete it (at your owen risk!! )

You might wanna run a virus scan before doing anything.

about unessesary Pop-ups, i know browsers like "Opera" has an option to "not accept pop-ups."


about that Kazaa Browser, i really dont know!
 

Tom

The DJ
Oct 30, 2001
11,726
#4
u could just uninstall kazaa then reinstall it but clearing history, cookies and temp.files should sort it
 

*aca*

Senior Member
Jul 15, 2002
869
#8
Use kazaa lite;)

Or use Imesh instead.

Download adaware from lavasoft.com & clean your system from spyware. Beware, because some software (like Kazaa;)) wont work after.

Imesh will.
 

Majed

Senior Member
Jul 17, 2002
9,630
#9
does Imesh use the same user database as KaZaa?
i mean does Imesh produce the same search results as kaZaA as Morpheous does?
 

Martin

Senior Member
Dec 31, 2000
56,814
#10
Kazaa lite doesn't have the spyware but it still produces popups. But I hate iMesh, changes something on my system so that windows are made active whenever they want to, not when I click on them, really pisses me off! :fero:

Sort of, they have different search methods, you'll never get the same hits on any of them. But they share networks.
 

Majed

Senior Member
Jul 17, 2002
9,630
#11
oh well....i think i'll just stick to KaZaA!!
....anyway, gtg y'all.....i have a game in 10 minutes(wish me luck! :D)

<---Fabio Cannavaro :thumb: Wannabe :D
 

Tom

The DJ
Oct 30, 2001
11,726
#12
last time I started talking about download programs y'all fed me this stuff about legal issues and closed the thread:rolleyes:
 
OP
OP

Evelyn8

Senior Member
Jul 23, 2002
584
#14
++ [ originally posted by Majed ] ++
well..
All i can suggest is emptying your temporary internet file and History.

if it opens every 30 minutes, it must be a program that you DLed from KaZaA. (.exe)
you might want to search on your computer for all .exe files that have been modfified in the past day or so... (arrange by date when u sort the *.exe search result) then if u see any suspisious file, find out what its for, if its not a windows file or a nesessary file, then Delete it (at your owen risk!! )

You might wanna run a virus scan before doing anything.

about unessesary Pop-ups, i know browsers like "Opera" has an option to "not accept pop-ups."


about that Kazaa Browser, i really dont know!
Wel I think the problem I have is the one Majed described.....

Becasue I did D-Load as a exe file.......

I nmy quest to find a pc versoin of TeKken.

and its stored somewhere in my system files probably
I'l try with the history
I thought I would catch it on task manager....
But I closed a process called GMT.exe and now the pop up doesn't open the webpage but its still pops up opening a window menaing the problem isn't gone.....

Where do I delete my Temp internet files???
 
OP
OP

Evelyn8

Senior Member
Jul 23, 2002
584
#15
++ [ originally posted by Paolo_Montero ] ++
u could just uninstall kazaa then reinstall it but clearing history, cookies and temp.files should sort it
where do I do all this stuff?

and about Kazaa Alex

that is not the problem because I took care of those pop upz all long time ago....

This Pop Up is different in the way..
That it pop ups weather I am connected or not connected to the internet.
and it pops ups every 30min regardless if I have a browser or Kazaa on or if I am just on a Screen Saver.....
 
OP
OP

Evelyn8

Senior Member
Jul 23, 2002
584
#16
alright majed
searched and sorted files by date these are the latest ones....

the ones d-loaded yesterday are as follows

winscv32.exe
Location C:\winnt\system32

Playstation Emulator.exe
Location C:\Emulator

Tekken Tag 011 Minds.exe
in my shared folders.....

Since I just Recently Downloaded Tekken Tag it can't be that
I am placing my bets on the winscv32 file

Can anybody just asure me that this is not an important system file......
 

Ali

Conditioned
Contributor
Jul 15, 2002
15,363
#17
Check the programs which are launched at startup. Identify the problem software and disable it. Then simply unistall it.
 

Martin

Senior Member
Dec 31, 2000
56,814
#18
Use the attached program to identify and kill any unnecessary startup programs. Worked for both Win98 and WinXP so it will probably work with other versions as well.
 

Majed

Senior Member
Jul 17, 2002
9,630
#19
i cant really tell from the list....
i know the the C:\winnt\system32 is a sys file...it could be risky...

Like DaJuve said, Check out if the same program is in startup:

Do this by: click start- then run
type in "msconfig" and a window will appear, go to the startup tab....u should find a list of all the progs that run on startup, look for suspiscios files by checking what Directory they are run from.

but b4 all this, try out alex's idea...much less risk.

anyway, to delete the temp internet files. open an Internet Expolor window, go to "tools", "internet options", then in the window that appears, the second box is the temp internet files options. click the "delete files" button in the middle.

....
Try this way if u have winXP:
Run System Restore (its easy if u have WinXP)...to restore ur PC to a date b4 ur pc had the problem.

click start---> programs--> accessories ---> system tools --> system restore. and follow the steps.

when u finally restore ur pc, it will look the same way as it was days ago, though the new files u DLed recently won't be deleted (but i think the system files are restored as they were). If the problem is still there, u can undo the restore, if its not, then look for the suspisious DLed file and delete it b4 running it.
 
OP
OP

Evelyn8

Senior Member
Jul 23, 2002
584
#20
I already managed to kill this program altough it wasn't a start up
program since......

It starts the application Iexplorer.

but the problem is In the frency I ended one of the process for my task manager.....

now my task manager only has to process window
and I can't switch to applications and mem usage

altough
its working how do I get the process back

I mean its not deleted I just ended it
and it doesn't come back after restarting either.....
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)