computer science area (1 Viewer)

Martin

Senior Member
Dec 31, 2000
56,913
#61
++ [ originally posted by maxmc ] ++
and tell me, which professonials use pcs?? secretaries who use word to type in some texts?????
Most pros use pcs, that's how the market share of the pc/windows is much higher than that of mac, the home use of pcs can in no way account for a 90% share.

And as for secretaries, if macs are better, why didn't they get macs? Who cares what they need them for?
 

Buy on AliExpress.com
OP

Reza

Junior Member
Jul 13, 2002
266
  • Thread Starter
  • Thread Starter #62
    ++ [ originally posted by Alex ] ++


    You need to locate your XF86Config, sometimes named XF86Config-4 and change the settings.

    Code:
    # locate XF86Config
    /etc/X11/XF86Config-4
    # nano /etc/X11/XF86Config-4
    In the file, under Section "Screen" you should see various resolutions listed, just edit the list and change the default one. :)

    Great stuff:cool:

    thats why i put step in linux with fear.but i like its challenges.:excited:
     
    OP

    Reza

    Junior Member
    Jul 13, 2002
    266
  • Thread Starter
  • Thread Starter #64
    one of my close friends is a linux freak ,he gets nervous:fero: when we talk about microsoft , yestreday he's talkin' about lindows ,what he said sounds intresting to me but he himself even hasn't lindos installed .
    i'd like to know if you've tried it ? how is it?
     

    Martin

    Senior Member
    Dec 31, 2000
    56,913
    #65
    I've tried Lindows 2.0 and it's pretty strange really :D It installs pretty fast, sets up all your drivers, display, mouse, all the things that will normally make you struggle in Linux. It runs on Debian and KDE so you have the underlying Debian structure and functions. Once you've installed the OS and you're all set up, it's kind of like Windows, you have a start menu where you'll find settings, software etc. You also have a software distribution package, that is paying the $99 for Lindows gives you access to a wide variety of software, just click on it from the list, it will automatically download, install, configure. So it makes Linux simpler and more enjoyable I think.

    Here's a more in-depth review:
    http://info.lindows.com/extreme-tech-oct4.htm
     

    Loppan

    Senior Member
    Jul 13, 2002
    2,528
    #68
    I have a problem with arrays.

    Let's say I have arrays: 23,25,28,29,24,27

    How do I find the oldest person in the array. I have done something like this:

    public int oldest() {

    int old=arr[0]; // I know this line is wrong

    for(int i=0;i<objects;i++) {
    if (arr<old)
    old=arr;
    }
    return old;


    }
     

    Martin

    Senior Member
    Dec 31, 2000
    56,913
    #69
    YES! The thread is getting more geeky by the post, I like that! :devil::D

    I'm assuming you are trying to find the largest integer in the array, as opposed to its positioning within the array. I might suggest something like..

    Code:
    public int oldest() {
    
      int[] arr = {23,25,28,29,24,27}; //declare array
    
      int old=arr[0]; // looks ok to me
    
      for (int i=0;i<arr.length;i++) {
        if (arr[i]>old) // element i is greater than old, not smaller
          old=arr[i];
      }
      return old;
    
    }
     

    Loppan

    Senior Member
    Jul 13, 2002
    2,528
    #73
    ++ [ originally posted by Alex ] ++
    YES! The thread is getting more geeky by the post, I like that! :devil::D

    I'm assuming you are trying to find the largest integer in the array, as opposed to its positioning within the array. I might suggest something like..

    Code:
    public int oldest() {
    
      int[] arr = {23,25,28,29,24,27}; //declare array
    
      int old=arr[0]; // looks ok to me
    
      for (int i=0;i<arr.length;i++) {
        if (arr[i]>old) // element i is greater than old, not smaller
          old=arr[i];
      }
      return old;
    
    }
    Thanks! Just one more question. What if you don't know the numbers .

    Should it be like this then:
    int[] arr = arr
     

    Majed

    Senior Member
    Jul 17, 2002
    9,630
    #74
    ++ [ originally posted by Alex ] ++
    YES! The thread is getting more geeky by the post, I like that! :devil::D

    I'm assuming you are trying to find the largest integer in the array, as opposed to its positioning within the array. I might suggest something like..

    Code:
    public int oldest() {
    
      int[] arr = {23,25,28,29,24,27}; //declare array
    
      int old=arr[0]; // looks ok to me
    
      for (int i=0;i<arr.length;i++) {
        if (arr[i]>old) // element i is greater than old, not smaller
          old=arr[i];
      }
      return old;
    
    }
    too easy Martin, though your not very efficient....:p

    just a minor adjustment in the for loop since i'm a perfectionist..

    for (int i=1 ;i<arr.length;i++) {
    if (arr>old) // element i is greater than old, not smaller
    old=arr;
    }

    That should remove the unnessesary first check...;)

    :D
     

    Martin

    Senior Member
    Dec 31, 2000
    56,913
    #75
    Loppan, to declare an empty array you would have:
    int[] arr = new int[6];

    Majed, you're a jerk, I left it like that on purpose :p
     

    Majed

    Senior Member
    Jul 17, 2002
    9,630
    #76
    ++ [ originally posted by Alex ] ++
    Loppan, to declare an empty array you would have:
    int[] arr = new int[6];

    Majed, you're a jerk, I left it like that on purpose :p
    i assumed it was a compenent variable :p
    and it should have already been declarred in the constructor...


    and watch ur language Mr.President .... sir ;)
     

    Majed

    Senior Member
    Jul 17, 2002
    9,630
    #78
    ++ [ originally posted by Alex ] ++
    Well, do you see a constructor? No? Well then let's TRY to keep things simple to suit the example at hand, shall we? ;)
    :LOL: :LOL:

    ur really pi$$ed ..... ;)
    :LOL:

    did i hit a weak spot?!! ;)
    just admit that i got u :p

    its ok man....we all make mistakes (maybe i should take away the nickname "geek" from u, u dont deserve it ) :p
     

    Majed

    Senior Member
    Jul 17, 2002
    9,630
    #80
    no $hit shurlock!!!
    i could tell from ur first reply with "jerk"....:LOL:


    i'm not gonna take that against u because i'm the same way......

    but i'm glad, now i know what button to push to pi$$ u off!! :LOL:

    ;)
     

    Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)