Martin's usability suggestions (1 Viewer)

Martin

Dec 31, 2000
I decided to make this a seperate thread because I knew there would be several points and if I keep it separate, it's easier to find the post later on. Now note that these ideas are not things that everyone will agree on, people never do. But I will keep to things that do make a difference and that are not very controversial. As everyone knows, I'm basically a postaholic both here and on Xtratime (with 10k+ posts) and I have been posting for 5 years to work out some ideas of what makes a forum good on usability. But what you should do is ask some of the other heavy posters for their opinions, because those are your most eager users.

1: Revert back to the old font size for posts.
The idea here is that the posts will always be by far the most important thing on this forum. People will read, read and read. You want to make it comfortable for them. It's not a coincidence that the vBulletin default font is being used by just about every forum running vbulletin, nor that it has survived since vb2. Quotes, signatures, post count, location etc, all that stuff very well could be (and probably should be) in a smaller font, but the post itself should be made as comfortable as possible for reading. What I feel now is that with the smaller font size, the posts doesn't stand out like it used to, seems less important so to speak.

2: Remove post icons
We haven't been using them at all until now, so they're new to everyone, noone's gonna miss them. I think they're pointless because they basically add nothing and they only take up space (and bandwidth for that matter), they're only in the way.

3: The "go to last post in thread" button is too small