Where do Real Madrid get their money? (1 Viewer)

Paid-off-Ref

Dec 16, 2004
Hey,

I'm studying economics and accounting and am about to graduate. Real Madrid's transfer campaign so far has really left me scratching my head. Where do they get their money?
First of all, football clubs are not profitable at all. Most clubs, for example Juventus, do not make a profit. When they do, they are not high at all, and certainly not 220 million pounds (Madrid's transfer kit this season). For example, Barcelona is expecting a 25 million euro profit this year after winning the Champions League.
You could argue that Real Madrid have retained their earnings over the years, but everybody knows that they spend more than most every summer. Also Real hasn't sold that many players or other "assets" at high prices in recent years.

So there are two other ways of financing this transfer campaign.

A) Attract investors and get them to supply capital
B) Going into debt.

Conclusion. Since I haven't heard of any big shot investing at Real Madrid, Perez must have financed this spending through a huuuuuuuge loan. Perez is no genius, and is in fact taking a huge gamble that might not work out.

Buy on AliExpress.com

Martin

Dec 31, 2000
I think the general consensus matches your conclusion. It is credit funded and it is a big gamble. From what I've heard Perez is not using his own money in this, however he is no doubt using his position to get loans from banks.

The Curr

Feb 3, 2007
Perez is worth $1.8 bil. He's the 397th richest person in the world.

I believe he can't directly spend his own money on transfers but I bet he can give "loans" to the club with virtually no interest.

Alos, Juan Carlos I helps them out whenever they need it.

Stephan

Nov 9, 2005
I think the general consensus matches your conclusion. It is credit funded and it is a big gamble. From what I've heard Perez is not using his own money in this, however he is no doubt using his position to get loans from banks.