The sale of Juventuz (1 Viewer)

Martin

Dec 31, 2000
Dear all,

No doubt a lot of you were surprised to see the large, flashing banner advertising the sale of this website. For those who got a little nervous about this, I'd like to assure you that's it's not an imminent thing. I haven't published a schedule for when things are going to happen and that's what you'll get here.

But first things first. I've decided to end my adventure with Juventuz mostly because I've lost interest in running a website. I've been doing it for over 5 years and it's actually been a long time since I did any work on it at all, the website was constructed a long time ago and hasn't changed much over the years. Recently I thought about making some changes, upgrading the forum in particular, but I decided it was too much work. In the past I would have done it because I had a passion for it but I guess I've moved on to other things. And so now the website runs just fine but there is no dedicated webmaster to fix anything other than fatal errors. This kind of development did not happen overnight, it has been an ongoing process and the status quo has existed for about a year before I made this decision. People have asked me to redesign, to replace images etc and the reason I haven't done anything about those things a long time ago is I don't have the passion for it anymore. I could, of course, tell you that I'm “too busy with school/work” and that I don't have time for the site anymore, that is a very popular argument. But since I have been doing it for so long, I'd rather tell you the truth which is the fact that my heart's not in it anymore. Most websites like Juventuz close much sooner than I have been at this, a lot of sites close after a year or maybe two. So that should tell you we've been in business for a very long time in internet time.